Alumni Awards of Merit

Awards Of Merit

Western's Alumni Association is pleased to offer an annual awards program that recognizes alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their professions or communities. The accomplishments of Western's alumni around the world bring credit and recognition to their Alma Mater.

In return, the Alumni Awards of Merit program seeks to identify and recognize alumni for their achievements.

An Awards Selection Committee carefully reviews all nominations for the four prestigious awards. Recipients are invited to attend an awards banquet to be recognized by Western and fellow alumni. Each receives an elegant Alumni Award of Merit recognition piece as a keepsake and their name is listed permanently on a plaque in Alumni Hall.

Nominations for the 2021 awards close Monday, March 1, 2021.

Dr. Ivan Smith Award
The Dr. Ivan Smith Award is named in honour of the Alumni Association's first president, who was also a pioneer in cancer research and treatment. This award is Western Alumni's highest tribute, recognizing significant and sustained contributions to the Alumni Association, The University of Western Ontario and society.

Professional Achievement Award
This award recognizes superior achievement in a professional field. The recipient is a role model for newcomers and sets standards of excellence to which others can aspire.

Community Service Award
This award pays tribute to alumni who have made outstanding volunteer contributions to their community. They have enriched the lives of others through their generous gifts of time and talent and their involvement with civic, charitable and social causes.

Young Alumni Award
The Young Alumni award recognizes significant contributions by an individual in their field of endeavour, whether through professional achievement or community service. The recipient is aged 40 or under, and sets an inspirational example for future young alumni.

2019 Alumni Award of Merit Recipients:

Hanny Assaf Hassan

Dr. Ivan Smith Award,
Hanny Assaf Hassan, C.M., BESc’64

Lois Elliott Fraser

Community Service Award,
Lois Elliott Fraser, HBA’77, OMC

Fred Possmayer

Professional Achievement Award,
Fred Possmayer, PhD’65

Boluwaji Ogunyemi

Young Alumni Award,
Dr. Boluwaji Ogunyemi, BSc’08