Western Mustangs Sports Hall of Fame

The Western Mustangs Sports Hall of Fame honours outstanding contributions to Western Mustang Athletics in three categories: Athlete, Builder and Builder/Athlete.

The awards are presented by the Western Mustangs Athletic Alumni, which was formed in 2015 with the merging of Western's two athletic alumni chapters, The “W” Club and the Women's Athletic Alumnae (WAA). Previous inductees of the “W” Club Hall of Fame and the WAA Elfrida Berzins Awards are automatically inducted to the Western Mustangs Sports Hall of Fame.

Please consider nominating an individual or team to receive this honour.

Inductees are recognized at the Western Mustangs Sports Hall of Fame Dinner held of the Friday evening of Homecoming Weekend.

Please note: nominations are open to athletic alumni who graduated more than 10 years ago. It is possible for the award to be given posthumously.

2018 inductees:

Lifetime Achievement Awards:

  • Fran (Wigston) Eberhard, BA'57, MA'79
  • Jack Fairs, BSc'46, MA'47, LLD'05

Individual inductees for 2018 are:

Women Inductees:

  • Marilyn Robbins, BA'78 - Tennis and Downhill Skiing
  • Terri McNutt, BScN'05, MN'12 - Wrestling
  • Jennifer Lam, BMSc'07, MD'11 - Badminton
  • Bob Foxcroft - Builder/Fencing (posthumously)

Men Inductees:

  • Michael Lynch, BA'94 - Basketball
  • Scott Stoneburgh, BA'93 - Squash
  • Nick Bontis, HBA'92, PhD'99 - Soccer and Track & Field
  • Randy McAuley, BA'08, BHSc'12, JD'15 - Football and Track & Field

Team inductees for 2018 are:

  • Women's Teams: Volleyball National Champions 1971-72, 1974-75, 1975-76
  • Men's Teams: Football National Champions 1959, 1971, 1974

For the the full list of previous inductees, please visit the John P. Metras Sports Museum website.