Nursing Alumni

Nursing Alumni

Celebrating 100 Years of Nursing Education and Research

100 Years of Alumni Stories
We invite you to share the stories of your time at Western and what you have gone on to achieve as leaders and contributors in the nursing profession

Read the stories submitted by Nursing Alumni.

Legacy 2020 Research Conference
May 3, 10, 25 and 31

Legacy 2020 Centennial Awards of Distinction
Ten awards will be presented to nurses who graduated from the Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing during its 100-year history. Learn more

Western's Nursing Alumni Chapter came together in 2005. The goal of the committee is to keep nursing alumni informed and engaged with the Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing.

The Nursing Chapter hosts a number of social events each year including a Homecoming Brunch and a golf clinic. The chapter also participates in the Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing Annual Research Conference.

To celebrate 100 years of Nursing at Western in 2020, the Nursing Chapter will participate in a series of events and initiatives that will bring people together and recognize the amazing contributions that have been made to the field over the last century. Read more about 100+ Years of Nursing at Western.

Nursing Alumni of Distinction Award

Nominate an outstanding Western nursing alumna or alumnus for a Nursing Alumni of Distinction Award or the Rising Star Award. The Nursing Alumni of Distinction Awards recognize significant contributions by an alumnus to the university community, the Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing and nursing profession. The Awards are presented each year at the Nursing Homecoming Event.

Please note that in 2021, we will bestow two awards in each category as the 2020 Nursing Alumni of Distinction Awards were postponed.

The Nursing Alumni of Distinction Awards Criteria and the Nursing Alumni of Distinction Award Nomination Form are available for download or email Natalie Devereux to receive a copy. Completed nomination forms must be submitted by August 15 in order to be considered for awarding at that year’s Homecoming event. 

Nursing Alumni of Distinction Award Past Recipients

  • 2012 - Annabel Sells, BScN’67
  • 2013 - Elsie MacMaster, BScN’62, MScN’77
  • 2014 - Heather Whittle, BScN’90, MScN’94
  • 2015 - Eileen Denomy, BScN ’87, MScN’00
  • 2016 - Kelly Metcalfe, BScN'96
  • 2017 - Rising Star: Kimie Soriano, BScN'07
  • 2018 - Janice McCallum, MScN’79
  • 2018 - Dr. Catherine Ward-Griffin, BScN’79, MScN’88
  • 2019 - Yvette Laforet-Fliesser, BScN'74, MScN'81
  • 2019 - Rising Star: Jennifer Martin, BScN’08


  • Yvette Laforet-Fliesser, BScN '74, MScN '81 (Co-Chair)
  • Barbara Watson, BSN'03, PhD'17 (Co-Chair)
  • Catherine Barr, BScN'07
  • Alexis Smith, BScN’16, MScN’18
  • Eileen Denomy, BScN'87, MScN'00
  • Eleanor Marris-Rogers, BScN'91, MN ANP'18
  • Julie Ann Lawrence, BSN'92, MScN'95
  • Deanna Stirling, BSN'89
  • Carol Young-Ritchie, BScN'01, MScN'07
  • Cindy Capstick, BScN’89

Nursing Alumni Chapter Breakfast Lecture by Susana Caxaj