Western Law Alumni Awards

Western Law and the Law Alumni Association offer an awards program that recognizes alumni who have made outstanding contributions to the law school, their profession and to society. The 2018 Law Alumni Awards nomination forms and criteria are available for download. The Law Alumni Awards are bestowed every two years. Details about the 2020 event, as well as the nomination process will be announced soon.

Ivan Rand Alumni Award

Named in honour of Western’s founding Dean of Law, the Hon. Ivan Cleveland Rand, CC, QC, LLD, this award recognizes exemplary contributions to Western Law and to the alumni community.

W. Iain Scott Business Leadership Award

This award recognizes superior achievement in business and leadership.  The recipient is a role model and mentor to alumni and to the professional community.

Community Service Award

This award recognizes alumni who have made outstanding contributions to local, national or international communities. They have enriched the lives of others through their tireless commitment and generous gifts of time and talent.

Past Alumni Award of Distinction recipients

Chris Bredt, BA’79, LLB’79 Community Service Award
Dale Ponder LLB’80 Ivan Rand Award
Michael Copeland, LLB'93, MBA'99 W. Iain Scott Business Leadership Award

Christine Elliott, LLB’78 Community Service Award
Richard McLaren, LLB’71 Ivan Rand Award
Warren Bongard, LLB’91 Business Leadership Award

Kim Beatty, LLB’83, Community Service Award
Stephen Coxford, LLB’77, Western Law Ivan Rand Alumni Award
Jacqueline Moss, LLB’88, Business Leadership Award  

Peter Aceto, BA’91, LLB’94, Business Leadership Award  
Jay Carfagnini, LLB'80, Western Law Ivan Rand Alumni Award
Rosemary McCarney, LLB77, Community Service Award

Roberta Jamieson, LLB’76, Community Service Award
Mitch Frazer, LLB’99, Ivan Rand Alumni Award
Geoff Beattie, LLB’84, Business Leadership Award

Douglas Ferguson, LLB’81

The Honourable J. Edgar Sexton LLB ’62

James McLeod, LLB'71 (posthumously)

Ronald George Atkey, LLB'65
Tracey Tremayne-Lloyd, LLB'83